“Super Taikyu Series”The Top Endurance Race Series in Asia

Japanese Endurance Race“Super Taikyu Series” Info in English

What is the Super Taikyu Series?

The Super Taikyu Series is touring car endurance racing for commercially available vehicles, in which everyone is entitled to participate. It was launched in 1991 in Japan and marked its 25th anniversary in 2016, having been at the top of the participatory motorsports in Asia. In Japan, it is commonly known as “S-Tai” and has been loved by people for many years, and the growing number of drivers from neighboring Asian countries take part in it of late years. As endurance racing series developed in Japan, we plan to hold “24 hours of the Super Taikyu Series” in the near future at the Fuji International Speedway located at the foot of Mt. Fuji which has been registered as one of the World Heritage Sites.

Where is the Super Taikyu Series held?

Each year, the Super Taikyu Series is composed of 6 rounds at the major FIA Certified circuits in Japan.

2017 Series schedule, venue & race format


How many drivers and vehicles participate?

More than 60 vehicles make annual entries every year. A large number of gentleman drivers (amateur drivers), who have abundant racing experience and enjoy races on a daily basis, participate in the Super Taikyu Series, and besides, more and more professional drivers renowned both in Japan and abroad and former exceptional drivers join in the series. This indicates that it has gained popularity as a team sport where both professional and amateur drivers play their heart out in long endurance races. 2 or 3 drivers each car for 3-4 hours races and minimum two pit stops are required. Up to 4 drivers for 10 hours race.

What kinds of vehicles participate?

Commercially available vehicles that everyone can buy are modified into racing cars within a minimum range and divided into classes by engine displacement and drive system. A class for vehicles in compliance with the FIA GT3 was newly established in 2011 and classes for vehicles in conformance with the GT4 and the TCR respectively were newly set up in 2017. Partnership was forged with World Sporting Consulting Ltd., the promoter of the TCR International Series, and the “TCR” class of the Super Taikyu Series is called the “TCR Endurance SuperTaikyu Class” worldwide.

Participating Vehicles

Class (ST stands for Super Taikyu.) Examples of participating vehicles
ST-X Class : FIA GT3 GT-R, BMW Z4, Mercedes SLS, Porsche, Ferrari, Lamborghini,and other vehicles
ST-TCR Class : TCR Audi RS3 LMS, HONDA CIVIC TCR, Volkswagen Golf GTI,and other vehicles
ST-Z Class : GT4 Porsche CaymanGT4, Lotus Evora GT4, and other vehicles
ST-1 Class : STO approved vehicles of 3,501cc and above BMW Z4, Porsche Carrera Cup, Ferrari challenge, Lamborghini,and other vehicles
ST-2 Class : 2,001cc-3,500cc 4WD vehicles Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution, SUBARU WRX, and other vehicles
ST-3 Class : 2,001cc-3,500cc 2WD vehicles Nissan Z34, LEXUS IS, LEXUS RC, Mazda AXELA diesel,and other vehicles
ST-4 Class : 1,501cc-2,000cc vehicles Toyota 86, Honda S2000, Mazda ROADSTER,and other vehicles
ST-5 Class : 1,500cc or lower Honda Fit, Toyota Vitz, Mazda ROADSTER, DEMIO,and other vehicles


Contact Us
Super Taikyu Organization (STO) Executive Office
Motor Sports Division
K2 Planet Co.,Ltd.
TAKI Building Omotesando 1F, 5-42-13 Jingumae, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, JAPAN 150-0001